Analytical Lab

Supporting the Research Community

Welcome

The MSI Analytical Laboratory is a facility established in 1977 that performs chemical analysis in support of the research community.

Rockfish swimming in kelp forest
Katie Davis Koehn

The services offered include Seawater nutrients and Elemental (CHN) analysis. Simultaneous determination of the carbon, hydrogen, and nitrogen content in solid materials. The MSI Analytical Lab will prepare samples for analysis including weighing and loading samples into tin capsules. Analysis of seawater samples for dissolved inorganic nutrients. We also have methodologies for analysis of other aqueous samples, such as fresh waters, estuarine waters, ground waters, and neutralized digests.

Contact

Ken Marchus
Lab Manager

Location

Analytical Lab
Bldg 520 Rm 1011
University of California Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106

Mailing Address

Analytical Lab
Marine Science Institute
Bldg 520 Rm 4002
University of California Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, Ca 93106

Hours

Monday through Friday 6:00am-3:00pm

The lab is closed on all UCSB administrative holidays.

Holidays 2021

  • New Year Holiday

    Friday, January 1, 2021
    Winter Curtailment January, 4, 2021
    Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 18
    President's Day Monday, February 15
    Cesar Chavez Holiday Friday, March 26
    Memorial Day Monday, May 31
    Independence Day Monday, July 5
    Labor Day Monday, September 6
    Veteran's Day Thursday, November 11
    Thanksgiving Thursday, November 25
    Friday, November 26
    Winter Holiday Thursday, December 23 - Friday, December 24
    Winter Curtailment Monday, December 27 - Wednesday, December 29
    New Year Holiday Thursday, December 30 - Friday, December 31